blog-tember day 28 // day in the life

Monday, Sept. 28: A day in the life. Take us through it with you.

Right now my days are mine and I am so thankful for that. I know they won’t always look like this, so I want to take advantage of all the time I have. This is what a typical day looks like in this current season I’m in:

Matthew and I recently started 5K interval training so we’ve been getting up earlier, around 6. But with getting sick, we’re back to our regular wake up of about 6:30-45. Then it’s shower time before starting breakfast.

We realized just how much we needed some extra time in the mornings when making Whole30 compliant breakfasts – real food takes time.

IMG_0750

I pack Matthew’s lunch, we eat breakfast, and then take Onyx for a walk. Then Matthew gets all his things together, I kiss ’em and wave goodbye.

This month the next thing I’ve been doing is enjoying my cold brew coffee while writing a blog post or two, catching up on email, budgeting, and any other online maintenance/distraction.

IMG_1272

Next I get the coffee prepped and in the fridge for tomorrow and pull out my Get To Work Book and see what needs doing. I usually think of more things that need to be added and write those in. There are usually always dishes to be done and I get started on those next [but sometimes that’s hard because dishes are a drag].

I have a loose routine of one main chore a day, heavily influenced by mom’s alliterations:

  • Management Monday – meal planning/prepping, getting focused for the week, planning out any extra chores/activities that need to be done, etc.
  • Toilet Tuesday – cleaning bathrooms [my least favorite] + I usually grocery shop on Tuesdays.
  • Wash on Wednesday – laundry! My favorite because it gives you the excuse to watch shows while you fold 😉
  • Thoughtful Thursday – this one is kind of broad and vague, it can mean anything from writing a note to someone to thinking about one extra thing I could do/clean/etc. that would make life better, like cleaning the refrigerator or doing some extra thorough tidying
  • Floors on Friday – vacuuming + sweep/mopping. With Onyx, I could vacuum every single day [and I hear that’s actually a really good habit to get into], but it’s more like every three days but I like to be sure it gets done on Friday for the wateverth time that week.

So whatever day it is I try to get that task done next without being too distracted by my phone/computer/etc.

I usually forget about eating lunch unless it is something extra delicious, in which case I’m basically just waiting for it to be an appropriate time to start getting it ready. Realistically though, it’s usually about 3 o’clock and I realize I’m really hungry and then there’s nothing I want to eat so I don’t get further than something I can grab and eat right then and there [bad habit, I know. I’m working on it].

IMG_0744

In the afternoons I like to take Onyx for a longer walk while listening to a podcast. Now that the weather is cooling off this is much more enjoyable.

Then I’ll either knit, write/work more on the computer, read, scrapbook, do some more cleaning that needs doing, run errands, start a new project, clean up the office/guest room, prepare for people coming over, get distracted on the internet, or some combination of those. As you can see, it’s neither very structured or “typical” ;).

IMG_1275

Matthew texts me when he’s leaving work and I usually get started on dinner then, unless it takes a bit longer in which case I wish I started earlier and freak out for a little bit that I won’t be able to finish it in time. [Matthew is seriously the best man in the world. He’s never upset if dinner isn’t ready when he gets home and he’s always willing to help as soon as he walks in the door. He’s amazing.]

We have dinner, clean up, and then take Onyx for another walk. After that we ask each other “what do you want to do?” and then decide on something, like watching an episode of something, or reading, or working on projects, or doing things that didn’t get done earlier in the day, or just hanging out & talking.

We’ve been working on going to bed earlier, so I try to make sure we’re getting ready by 10. Then it’s reading time and I fall asleep while Matthew reads whatever book we’re on [right now it’s Eldest, book 2 after Eragon in the Inheritance Cycle].

IMG_1188

Then it’s lights out and the day is done.


Brave Love Blogday 27: wish list
day 26: reading list
day 25: three songs
day 24: favorite blog[ger]s
day 23: guest post!
day 22: getting creative
day 21: favorite quote[s]
day 20: guilty pleasures
day 19: best day
day 18: vlog!
day 17: current obsession
day 16: me vs. me
day 15: in my bag
day 14: five books
day 13: current season
day 12: currently…
day 11: friday night
day 10: bucket list
day 9: dear me,
day 8: favorite season
day 7: blog name
day 6: style
day 5: itunes shuffle
day 4: passions
day 3: mood board
day 2: ideal day
day 1: introductions

blog-tember day 28 // day in the life

4 thoughts on “blog-tember day 28 // day in the life

Leave a Reply

