blog-tember day 26 // reading list!

books on deck

Saturday, Sept. 26: What’s on your to-reading list, and what have you recently read? 

Over the summer I tore through my reading list due to the combination of setting a reading goal for the year + getting my library card. In the past month I’ve kind of fell off my train, but I’m hoping to jump back on. Here’s what I’ve got on deck:

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & The Olympians) by Rick Riordan I really do love a good young adult book and I’ve been wanting to read this series for a while, so I requested the first one at the library and here we are!

The Unveiled Wife by Jennifer Smith Matthew bought this book for me as a gift and I’m looking forward to reading it and working through the questions. The Smith’s testimony is pretty crazy and their open + honest conversation about it is inspiring.

The Love Dare by brothers Alex & Stephen Kendrick I picked this up at a used bookstore and wanted to start it 40 days before our first anniversary but didn’t (whoops). This book is essentially a daily devotional + dare to love your spouse especially well in a particular way/area.

Margin – Richard A. Swenson | I received this book as a Christmas gift and I’ve recently heard great things about it so I’m looking forward to reading it.

Outlander – Diana Gabaldon This is one of those books that seems to be making the rounds in the circles I follow so I thought I’d give it a go myself.

The Host – Stephanie Meyer I picked this up for cheap at a used book store. In spite of it being written by the author of the Twilight Saga, I’ve heard good things which intrigued me enough to give it a try.

Yes, Please – Amy Pohler Another one of the insanely popular reads lately. I’ve been on the library’s wait list for months.

The Maze Runner – James Dashner The girl I did tutoring + after school care for was reading this book and telling me all about it so I figured, why not!

I’m using GoodReads to track my reading goal process and I only need to read four more books by the end of the year to complete it!

Of my recent reads my favorite were:

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo | if you’re thinking about reading this, do yourself a favor and just buy it. It’s worth the ten bucks to get your life in order.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling This was such a fun read, especially while also watching The Office in the evenings. This book made me an official Mindy Fan.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple | This was also a really fun read for me. It was quirky and tragic and REALLY made me want to go on a cruise to Antarctica.

Bossypants by Tina Fey This was another fun one for me. It was especially fun because I started watching 30 Rock around the time I read it. Loved it & love Tina Fey.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel A suuuuper good sci-fi/end of the world novel. No zombies! I also really liked the set up and story telling from various people’s perspectives [I should really know the term for that]. I would definitely recommend this one.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty This book is thick but I tore through it because I couldn’t put it down. Set in Australia, it is about the mom politics of grade school and relationships in general.

One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp A mighty popular read and I can see why. This book might not be for everyone, but the core message is: thankfulness. I know some have a hard time with the language and way this book is written, but the English Major in me loved it. It almost reads like poetry and there’s at least one reason to highlight something on every page.

What about you? Favorites? Recommendations? I’d love to get some more suggestions!


Brave Love Blogday 25: three songs
day 24: favorite blog[ger]s
day 23: guest post!
day 22: getting creative
day 21: favorite quote[s]
day 20: guilty pleasures
day 19: best day
day 18: vlog!
day 17: current obsession
day 16: me vs. me
day 15: in my bag
day 14: five books
day 13: current season
day 12: currently…
day 11: friday night
day 10: bucket list
day 9: dear me,
day 8: favorite season
day 7: blog name
day 6: style
day 5: itunes shuffle
day 4: passions
day 3: mood board
day 2: ideal day
day 1: introductions

blog-tember day 26 // reading list!

8 thoughts on “blog-tember day 26 // reading list!

  1. stefaniegalvin says:

    I really enjoyed The Host (in spite of being by the author of Twilight) and I think I read it in the first 24 hours after it was released because I was working in a book store back then. I found the first part a little bit dry, but once the story gets going it really did suck me in and I think it’s a really interesting look at characters and their motivations. Thanks for sharing your list! I’m having a ball adding books to my ‘to-read’ list!

    Stef
    the Noveltea Corner

    Like

  2. I LOVED The Lightning Thief! Such a good book. Makes me want to brush up on my Greek mythology…

    I didn’t hate the Host, but there is almost no action. That bugged me. Guess I’m just not a fan of her writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

