blog-tember day 19 // the best day

best.day

Saturday, Sept. 19: Tell us about one of the best days of your life.

I imagine some people might think it obvious for me to choose my wedding day as one of the best days of my life, but really I think the main appeal is that it is recent enough to remember and it was very well documented.

Because truth be told, my wedding day was not the best day of my life. In fact, the first half of it was really bad. I didn’t get very much sleep the night before [surprise, surprise] and the whole morning while getting ready I felt sick and like I was going to start crying at any moment. I was left alone with the lady doing my hair & makeup and it was really weird and not fun and all I wanted was to see Matthew and not feel such enormous pressure to be pretty.

BEST DAY - COLLAGE 1

But after our first look everything in me calmed down. I felt zero nervousness the rest of the day. I didn’t have nervous butterflies walking down the aisle, I wasn’t scared to read my vows in front of all those people [like I had been sick to my stomach about for the last year], and I had absolutely no worries about things going “wrong”.

It was weird in a way because it felt like just another day. It was, but it also wasn’t. My entire life was changed forever because of that day but it still just felt like another day, although a bit busier than usual ;).

marcy-matthew-wedding-473

Marrying my best friend and being surrounded by so many wonderful people who love and support us was the best part of my wedding day. I poured SO much of myself into planning and preparing for that one day that it almost sucked the life out of me.

One of my most favorite memories of the whole day, though, was after we had walked through our glow-stick tunnel and driven away in our painted up car. We were about 5 minutes down the road when I remembered I had left my [1 and only pair of] jeans back at the house and we went back to get them.

marcy-matthew-wedding-740

This turned out to be a small miracle because I was not really in a good place when we were leaving. I felt so sad to be leaving all of my family and the thought of moving was overwhelming me.

At my sister’s wedding a year earlier, they made their grand exit, drove around the block for a while, and came back to get their stuff before heading out on the honeymoon. The hour or so when they came back to get their stuff was one of the best times of the whole day – it was just family and a couple close friends and we got to see the new couple totally lit up with joy and excitement and be excited with them. We talked about our favorite parts of the day in rocking chairs on the front porch of their wedding venue. It was such a sweet, special time that I wanted so badly for my own wedding day.

It was just our two immediate families back at the house and we got to hug everyone one last time and I got to say bye to my dad because I didn’t get to before we left the first time. It was so hard to not want to just stay and hang out around the fire. The little moments deep in the night with the choicest of people are some of my most favorite.

IMG_0268

We went back and took some pictures together under our big, white tent that was lit up with Christmas lights and it was just so good. We then went and grabbed my pants [I’m still SO glad I remembered them before we were too far away!] and I got to hug my sisters and say bye one more time and then I was whisked away by my new husband.

I was in a much better place after our second exit. I felt so happy and content after seeing everyone again and I felt ready to leave town with this great guy I was now married to.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetBEST DAY CROP

Since that day, and even before that day, I have had some of the best days of my life. One of my favorites was a day when Matthew took off work and we went around town. We went to a coffee shop for breakfast, and then went shopping at a Crate & Barrel, went out to dinner at Ted’s Montana Grill [so. good.], stopped by my sisters apartment for a short while to say hi, and then ended the night at Lowe’s getting lightbulbs or something. It wasn’t anything extraordinary, but it is one of my favorite days.

Other memories from similar days when we were in college are some of my favorites – sometimes Matthew would skip class to hang out with me and once we went and saw a movie. There’s something about spending the entire day with someone that can make you laugh so hard you cry. No big plans, just deciding what to do next without worrying about anything else.

Those are some of the best days of my life. And that makes me smile because there are more days like that to come.


Brave Love Blogday 18: vlog!
day 17: current obsession
day 16: me vs. me
day 15: in my bag
day 14: five books
day 13: current season
day 12: currently…
day 11: friday night
day 10: bucket list
day 9: dear me,
day 8: favorite season
day 7: blog name
day 6: style
day 5: itunes shuffle
day 4: passions
day 3: mood board
day 2: ideal day
day 1: introductions

blog-tember day 19 // the best day

11 thoughts on “blog-tember day 19 // the best day

Leave a Reply

