twelve blankets one year // august

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Yay! Finally posting August’s blanket!

For this blanket, I used my standby of Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick yarn and 10 mm [US size 15] circular needles but switched it up with the stitching! I did this entire blanket in the seed stitch, which is alternating rows of knit 1, purl 1, etc, and purl 1, knit 1, etc.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

The seed stitch creates this fun bumpy pattern that looks the same on both sides.

I taught myself this stitch by this post + video and watching this video. [That scrap blanket had me all heart eyes and now super inspired for a potential twelve blankets one year blanket! I’ve got lots of scrap yarn from this project so far, but I’m just not sure how the colors would all look together… ]

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

As you can tell by this picture, the dimensions of this blanket are weird. I didn’t realize just how many stitches I cast on and was so over this blanket that I couldn’t bring myself to go buy more yarn and keep going on it.

The finished dimensions are about 6 feet by 2.5 feet. Talk about awkward. I considered ripping it all out and starting over but seeing as we’re halfway through September I need to move along.

What I did realize, however, was that it is the perfect size for wrapping around your shoulders! Most blankets don’t quite make it all the way around and are annoyingly too short to bring full-circle into a cozy, snuggley, overlapping shoulder wrap. It’s perfect for when I come in from walking the dog and then sit still too long and start to get cold. It could also be a fun rug, but it doesn’t quite fit any of our spaces with our current setup.

I’m not crazy about how the colors ended up coming out. Matthew kept suggesting to dye it but I can’t even imagine what kind of disaster that would turn into.

I think, hey, if you have only one dud after knitting twelve blankets, that ain’t too bad.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

twelve blankets one year // august

One thought on “twelve blankets one year // august

  1. You can also make this the center panel, pick up stitches on the sides, and knit outward. This way you don’t have to deal with the seed stitch again, and maybe the side panels can be a different, complementing color. This way- the color combo of the seed stitch will not seem as odd.

    Or maybe it’s the center panel, and you can pickup stitches on the top and bottom… whatever works.

    Like

Leave a Reply

