blog-tember day 6 // style

Sunday, Sept. 6: Share your style. What fashion trends do you love, frequent, or avoid?

This prompt is funny because I am so not a fashionista type. I literally have to be forced to go buy clothes because there are so many other things I’d rather spend my money on and clothes shopping is exhausting.

After going through all my clothes and getting rid of about 1/3 of my entire wardrobe, I noticed that the majority of the pieces left were grays, black & white, greens, and blues [+red&white because of my school colors]. Those are my comfort zone colors and I’m much more likely to wear something if its one of those colors. I also really like simple. My closet & drawers are filled with solids, stripes, and subtle patterns of about three or four colors.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

This is one of my favorite shirts – a simple army green button up with rolled-up sleeves. It’s light, neutral, and I don’t have to layer it with an undershirt. One of my other favorite shirts is a slouchy t-shirt with a three-sectioned gray gradient. It’s easy, simple, and requires no layering.

Since I don’t currently have a traditional day job, I haven’t been forced to go out shopping for lots of professional and formal clothing. I’m really a band shirt girl through-and-through. My goal is to start working toward a capsule wardrobe of simple pieces that are versatile and flattering. If I can remember to stop spending so much money during Target trips 😉

IMG_20131024_002708  IMG_0429  76390_463212109332_1118590_n (2)

In the winter I wear this knit cardigan to pieces [the first picture was taken a few days after Matthew & I got engaged haha]. It’s just shades of gray in a faire isle-ish pattern and most often I wear it over a plain black t-shirt. The last picture was taken about 5 years ago, and yep – I’m wearing my standby colors.

I don’t feel so bad about not having a trendy wardrobe when I hear about all the terrible work conditions that surround most of the “fast fashion” industry. I want to be conscious of what I buy and where it comes from but also confident in what I clothe myself in.

I would love to try out Stitch Fix, an online personal shopping/stylist subscription, but it’ll have to wait for a little while. Sometimes having someone else pull pieces for you helps get you out of a fashion rut ;).

styled
sources: from left to right – one, two, three, four, five, six, seven
Just for fun I put together a little style mood board as an example of styles/clothing that I like.

Trends/items I tend to avoid: anything with CRAZY colors + patterns, peplum [yikes!], warm colors like pinks, oranges, and yellows, and anything that makes me feel like an old, out-of-touch mom ;).


Brave Love Blogday 5: itunes shuffle
day 4: passions
day 3: mood board
day 2: ideal day
day 1: introductions

blog-tember day 6 // style

31 thoughts on “blog-tember day 6 // style

  1. Seem that many of us share the unease of talking about fashion. I, too, would really like to begin focusing on more ethically produced products in regard to clothing, but, yet, Target keeps calling to me. 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you! There’s nothing quite like neutrals.
      Aw, man! Maybe they’ll go international or another company will pick up their slack! 🙂
      I’ve heard good things about Stitch Fix, but it seems like a big step for someone like me who basically only buys from the clearance racks! haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

