blog-tember day 1 // introductions & a whole lotta backstory

Brave Love BlogHello, everyone! I am excited to be challenging myself to participate in the 2015 Blog-tember Challenge hosted by Bailey Jean over at BraveLoveBlog! This is a blog everyday challenge with prompts for each day of September. My goal is to post my Blog-tember posts at noon each day on top of my regular posting schedule of M/W/F, unless I don’t have any other content lined up for that day and it will just be a Blog-tember post instead ;).

Today’s prompt is:

Monday, September 1: Introduce yourself however you like! Pics, collage, vlog, your choice!

So, hello there! My name is Marcella but I usually answer to Marcy. I’ve lived in the same state of North Carolina my whole life but have moved within it four times, mostly in the same area around the capitol. Though I was born in the Queen City, I grew up with my three sisters on a huge plot of family property, where my parents still live & I love to visit. I hope to one day move back out on “the farm” and raise my kids where I grew up.

school | I was homeschooled from third grade through my sophomore year of high school and I loved it. I played flute and clarinet in a small homeschool band and played volleyball on a homeschool team. My junior year of high school I went to a middle college where I took both high school and college classes at a community college before transferring to NC State where my boyfriend at the time also attended college. I majored in English and roomed with one of my friends and we are still friends to this day! My two years living on campus were both really hard and really fun. I struggled a lot with loneliness and being homesick my first month and didn’t really meet any friends. I was super thankful to have my boyfriend and my roommate but that was the extent of my circle of friends.

In February of my second semester away at school my family’s house burned down. It was a traumatic experience but we are all so incredibly thankful that all we lost were possessions and not loved ones. So much growth and healing has come out of the experience and we are all forever changed for the better.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

By my last semester at State I made some good friends in my major that made all the difference. I finally felt like I’d figured out how to study and write papers and was beginning to feel like I would really miss this college gig. I graduated Spring 2014 and took the summer off to plan a wedding with that cute boyfriend who asked me to marry him right outside my dorm room the previous October [it was awesome].

marriage | We got married out on the farm a year and 8 days after he proposed. It is one of the first memories my family has of the new house they built after the fire and it was an incredible day filled with some of our favorite people and Chipotle.

our house | After a week in the mountains of North Carolina, I moved into our charming little house with my new husband. For the past ten months we have slowly been making this house our home. I love hosting parties and small get-togethers here, filling the space with laughter and amazing food.

our dog | Earlier this year in March, we adopted our sweet rescue pup, Onyx, from the pound. She is seriously the best and I can’t believe how lucky we got with her. She is calm and quiet and doesn’t destroy things, even though her husky side would suggest she might act otherwise. She loves walks and playing out on the farm with her puppy-cousin, Banjo. She is such a great addition to our little family even though she sheds enough to merit me vacuuming every day.

what i “do” | I have been babysitting since I was in middle school and I spent a summer near D.C. nannying for my brother’s family two years ago. In July I left my last year-long nannying job and I’m now trying to figure out what’s next for me job/career-wise. Applying for grown up jobs is one of my least favorite things.

blogging | In high school I had a personal blog that was filled with random and awful writings that are totally embarrassing now. I started The King Crew with Matthew in April of this year and I have loved having a place to share part of me with you.

the quick facts | I’ve got big, crazy, curly hair that I’m still trying to figure out. Matthew & I are on day 29 of our first Whole30 [woohoo!]. I love coffee and going to coffee shops but I only drink decaf now. I love baking pies and they’ve become my signature dessert. I re-learned how to knit last November and this year I’m knitting a blanket a month. I find HTML super fun and interesting but also complicated & WordPress definitely doesn’t love me enough to meet my needs for free. A perfect avocado is the way to my heart [and proof that God loves me]. Also hand lettering. I make killer flaky buttermilk biscuits. I’m a scrapbook supply hoarder. I love pretty paper and finding the perfect card. I could watch calligraphy and brush lettering videos for hours. I’ve learned a lot about myself in the last two years and I have found that getting to know yourself is an essential part of life.

There’s probably a ton I’m forgetting, but this is a small glimpse into who I am and where I come from.

My name is Marcy, pleased to meet you. [also these flowers were super pretty so I took a picture of them]

blog-tember day 1 // introductions & a whole lotta backstory

45 thoughts on “blog-tember day 1 // introductions & a whole lotta backstory

  1. pandadeww says:

    Love your post! and your puppy is just so effin’ adorable!
    I understand your hair struggles >.< I have curly hair to and its a nightmare especially because my hair is weak and tears easily so I decided to perm it, though I'm planing to try and deal with its curlyness this time when the perm is removed. I really love your hair btw xD

    pandacookieoutofthebox.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Thank you!
      Haha, thank you! I’d have to agree 😉
      Girl, I feel your pain. It’s crazy how complex learning curly hair is. There will be some days when a certain method of taming will work and others there’s nothing that works. And then there’s the humidity in the summer…
      I wish you great success on your curly hair quest post-perm!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. pandadeww says:

        Wahahahaha I love how curly haired humans just understand each other XD and if you have any tips then I’m all ears or eyes since were typing … anyway you seem awesome so I’m following you ^o^

        Like

      2. Right?! It’s like an undeniable connection hahaha.
        Right back atcha! I’m still in search of the perfect products that will keep my hair soft, de-frizzed, shaped, not cost a fortune, and don’t have to be used with 10 other things. I’m thinking of trying out coconut oil as a hair mask but I’m kind of scared about the mess. We’ll see!
        😀 Thanks!

        Like

  2. Your house is darling!! I just finished my first round of Whole30 about 2 weeks ago! I’m already tempted to go back to it just because it was so wonderful. I hope reintroduction goes better for you than it did for me 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you!!
      Congratulations! #respect 😉

      Oh, gosh thank you. I am nervous about reintroduction and what to do next. The strictness of the program definitely helped me stay on track so I’m not sure how I’ll do with off-roading. It will be nice to not feel like THAT person at family gatherings and at restaurants, though haha. I think my ideal would be paleo for the day-to-day and intentional thoughtfulness on special occasions. We’ll see!

      Like

  3. Marcy,

    I loved hearing so much about you and absolutely love your lion’s mane! It is honestly so majestic, you’re gorgeous! I also find HTML super fun and am currently in the early stages of becoming a Junior Web Developer! Looking forward to learning more about you during the #blogtember challenge! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Morgan!
      That is so neat about Junior Web Developer! I took one class in college on web design and I wish I would have taken more! I did learn about some good free resources though, so I’m thinking of working through those as a refresher.
      Same to you! 🙂

      Like

  4. Rachel G says:

    Your hair is gorgeous! I love big curls! You have the cutest home and I feel like I really got to know you through this post! Great introduction!

    Like

  5. […] day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  6. […] day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  7. […] day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  8. […] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  9. […] day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  10. (Don’t mind me stalking all the way back to day 1 of the challenge 🙂 ). I loved your about me post because I could relate to so much! I was home schooled all the way through and started dual enrolling the summer after my 9th grade year. I admire you for throwing that out there because I still find myself trying to avoid the home school stigma on occasions. Also totally did the nannying and babysitting thing. Except for a brief stint at a fast food place while we were raising financial support the first time for our current job…nannying was the only job I knew. I even went back to it when we were in the states raising support the second time around. Totally spoiled me because it’s so much better than “the real world.” So I wish you lots of luck on the “real world” endeavor!!!

    Like

    1. ❤ ❤ ❤
      I love finding other homeschooling vets! I totally understand wanting to avoid it. I remember it coming up in conversation years ago and one of the guys I was talking with was surprised and said "you were homeschooled?! but you're normal?" – there's definitely a stigma.
      I've loved babysitting & nannying and totally agree about it spoiling you for the "real world" – the hours can be so much better! I also just love being able to help families out with childcare and providing an alternative to daycare.

      I've been nervous about the transition, so thank you!! ❤

      Like

  11. […] day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  12. […] day 23: guest post! day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  13. […] day 24: favorite blog[ger]s day 23: guest post! day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  14. […] day 25: three songs day 24: favorite blog[ger]s day 23: guest post! day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  15. […] day 26: reading list day 25: three songs day 24: favorite blog[ger]s day 23: guest post! day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  16. […] day 27: wish list day 26: reading list day 25: three songs day 24: favorite blog[ger]s day 23: guest post! day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  17. […] day 28: day in the life day 27: wish list day 26: reading list day 25: three songs day 24: favorite blog[ger]s day 23: guest post! day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

  18. […] day 29: ten topics day 28: day in the life day 27: wish list day 26: reading list day 25: three songs day 24: favorite blog[ger]s day 23: guest post! day 22: getting creative day 21: favorite quote[s] day 20: guilty pleasures day 19: best day day 18: vlog! day 17: current obsession day 16: me vs. me day 15: in my bag day 14: five books day 13: current season day 12: currently… day 11: friday night day 10: bucket list day 9: dear me, day 8: favorite season day 7: blog name day 6: style day 5: itunes shuffle day 4: passions day 3: mood board day 2: ideal day day 1: introductions […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

