the king crew goes whole30

I don’t remember exactly how I first came across the Whole30, but I know it was through the internet. I read the program description on their site and I thought to myself: “I should do this.” and then: “I don’t think I can do this.” So I didn’t. But after a few months seeing more and more about it and checking out The Whole30 from the library I decided I would do it. And since I do most of the cooking and food prep I was so thankful Matthew decided to join me!

I feel like I’ve always had at least a somewhat unhealthy relationship with food. I had trouble with self-control and cravings were a norm. I decided I wanted to work on that and so much of what the Whole30 is about is doing just that: recreating a healthier relationship with food by changing what and how you eat.

We are three days in and so far it has been a tough transition. One of the biggest things starting out is adjusting to a new diet and feeling hungry while trying to find the proper portion balance. On day one I was totally unprepared and was out shopping for most of the day and my lunch ended up being a Lara Bar (whoops).

After day one, though, I had a stocked fridge and options. I tend to forget about lunch (for myself) until past the point when I’m hungry. By then I’m scrambling to find something I can eat right away or very quickly and end up eating something quick then making a lunch and then eating that. It’s harder to do that when you’re eating food you freshly prepare yourself – so that has been an adjustment.

Yesterday I had a headache for most of the day, which can be normal when starting but still a total bummer. In an attempt to alleviate it, I drank loads of water which I sometimes forget to do so that was helpful (albeit ineffective).

This early in I don’t have a ton of favorite recipes or tried-and-true advice/takeaways. Except stock your fridge/pantry before day one ;). I like to meal plan a week at a time, anything more than that can get stressful (and expensive if you’re not careful!), so that’s what I’m continuing to do while on Whole30. I like to have a few meal ideas per main protein so that I can get more out of it and also have some options (beyond just “leftovers”. I roasted a whole chicken and am planning to make some egg “muffins” for breakfasts (something similar to this) and almond milk using this recipe which will each last through multiple days.

I’ve always enjoyed cooking and baking and on the Whole30 it just means getting a little more creative and trying new things. My main goal with all of this is to reset my mind and body’s relationship with food, make better daily food choices, and establish habits of a healthier, more balanced, vegetable-filled lifestyle.

I’m looking forward to this little adventure and sharing a small part of it with you!

doing-the-w30-IG          doing-the-w30-IG

I decided I wanted to try the Whole30 at some point a few months ago. I decided to start the Whole30 a week ago. Matthew decided to do it with me [so much yay! on that one]! Our Whole30 will run from August 4 to September 2.

the king crew goes whole30

Leave a Reply

