twelve blankets one year // february

February’s blanket is extra special to me and is the first blanket I knit in the double-row stripe pattern. This is the blanket that gave me the idea for the twelve blankets one year project. I knit this blanket for Matthew’s very dear cousin who was experiencing a very tough pregnancy. Her sweet baby girl was born on my birthday over a month early and is now happy and healthy.

For this blanket I used Lion Brand Wool-ease Thick & Quick since in February it was the only yarn I’d worked with on a blanket. I chose charcoal and raspberry and think I may have converted myself to pink.

I don’t remember exactly but think I cast on 60 stitches. Using US size 10 needles, I knit two full back-and-forth rows of color, alternating until it was square and looked right. The final dimensions ended up very close to 3×3′ – what seems to have become my ideal baby blanket size. This blanket was a welcome change from the huge blanket I knit in January and I felt like I could actually wrangle this one back and forth during the knitting process.

In addition to being a baby blanket, I find this a perfect size for throwing over your legs while sitting on the couch. It is thick and squishy and warm. I totally love how the colors turned out and I will probably be making another just like it in the future.

After five months of having this gift packed in a mailer I finally sent it off. Note to self: mailing packages is not always the easiest thing for you to get done – please plan accordingly [or get your act together and just do it]. I love this blanket and being able to give it as a gift is so exciting and special.

twelve blankets one year // february

2 thoughts on “twelve blankets one year // february

Leave a Reply

