twelve blankets one year // may

I completed May’s blanket on May 19th. This was my first commissioned piece! My mom sponsored this blanket for one of my cousins’ new baby girl who came in February. We chose colors that would coordinate with their nursery and settled on Loops & Threads Country Loom Baby yarns in white, aqua, and peach from Michael’s. I have completely fallen in love with this color combination and think it is just darling for a baby girl’s blanket. I will definitely be keeping this one in the back of my mind for potential future babies ; ).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This was a quick knit that I enjoyed working on while sitting with my sisters as the youngest one got ready for prom and while watching TV in the evenings. I am completely sold on knitting and I love that you can be productive while doing something “mindless” like watching TV. These simple projects are perfect for that since there isn’t any counting or complicated stitching involved.

I again worked in a super simple back-and-forth garter stitch striping white between alternating colors. Each stripe is two full back-and-forth rows of color.  I also learned how to carry my yarn when doing stripes on this blanket! The result is a tighter edge that is less obtrusive. The internet is amazing and you can pretty much learn how to do anything.

The finished blanket ended up being about 37″x27″ making it a cute rectangle. It is machine washable (great for a baby blanket!) and very lightweight but still warm. I always enjoy having my knit blanket projects on my lap as I’m working on them, it’s so comforting and snuggley. When knit up this yarn is soft and reminds me of poodle fur – super fun and soft and interesting. I’m tempted to make a second one for myself haha.

I’m looking forward to gifting this blanket and it being loved and used for years to come.

twelve blankets one year // may

Leave a Reply

